WSCC Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society Inducts New Members and Is Recognized as REACH Chapter

Mar 20, 2024Dalton Bright
PTK Induction Spring 2024

Shayley Vogelaar of Cullman accepts a certificate from Ashton Mariner president of the Wallace State Alpha Chi Tau Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society during a induction ceremony.

Hanceville, AL — More than 80 Wallace State Community College students were recently inducted in the college’s Alpha Chi Tau Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) International Honor Society. 

Membership in PTK is extended by invitation only. For a student to be eligible, they must be enrolled in an associate-degree program, have completed at least 12 hours of college-level course work leading toward an associate degree, have a grade point average of 3.5 or greater, showcase good character and possess leadership qualities. 

PTK members engage in mentoring at local high schools, tutoring Wallace State students and community service throughout Cullman County and nearby areas. They also participate in academic-enrichment programs sponsored by Wallace State and other institutions. 

Membership also opens the opportunity for PTK scholarships for students transferring to four-year universities. Inductions happen twice a year, in spring and fall. PTK members qualify for special recognition during the college’s yearly graduation ceremonies. 

The Wallace State chapter was recognized for achieving the designation as a REACH chapter for 2023. The recognition is part of PTK’s REACH Rewards program, which celebrates and rewards PTK chapters that excel in membership development by achieving exceptionally high rates of membership acceptance in the 2023 calendar year. The REACH rewards program encourages membership by rewarding chapters who achieve or exceed 15 percent for their membership acceptance rate. In 2023, Wallace State’s PTK chapter achieved a 21 percent membership acceptance rate and was one of 159 chapters nationwide honored for their efforts in bringing the benefits and opportunities of PTK membership to more students. 

“Our chapter has been a REACH chapter for several years now and it’s still exciting every time we get recognized. One of the strong points of our PTK chapter is that we induct a lot of members, and the list of students that qualify to be invited to PTK every semester is quite impressive. We have some really smart students at WSCC, and we enjoy getting to celebrate them,” said PTK sponsor Brandon Smith. “Being a member of PTK gives students the opportunity to exercise their leadership skills, showcase their academic gifts, fellowship with other members and participate in service projects. We are hopeful that membership in PTK will be the catalyst that will launch the students into greater successes as they hopefully transfer to a four-year university.”   

Students inducted into PTK for the Spring 2024 semester include: 

Alabaster: April Burgess 

Arab: Katherine Fleming, Jillian Grisham, John Ray Wilks 

Bankston: Kendallyn Dunavant 

Blountsville: Marisa Bryan, Russell Stephens 

Boaz: Fiena Tsamratul Fuadah, Emma Miller 

Bremen: Kaden Burgess, Grey William Johnson 

Cleveland: Rebeca Mendoza, Jacquelyn Harper Elizabeth Simmons 

Columbiana: Alejandra Saucedo Corpus 

Crossville: Summer Miller, Charlie Mae Smith 

Cullman: Emree Dean, Brianna Garcia, Devin Blaine Hollis, Gage Hooper, Elijah Clay McCollum, Abby Lee McDonald, Brooklyn Morton, Charlie O'Neil, Easton Peed, Elijah Putman, Spencer Smith, Anna Turner, Leila VanderWal, Shayley Vogelaar, Lindsey Weidman, Kimberly Wilt 

Danville: Maisie Aarielle Waynick 

Double Springs: Brody Densmore, Riley Davis Gilbreath, Lily Suggs 

Eva: Chaden Hill, Jerry Ryan Tucker 

Falkville: Audrey Anderson 

Fultondale: Arleth Flores, Joseph Blake Nunnally 

Gardendale: Addison Dunagan, Jackie Louis Rowan III 

Guntersville: Molly C. Anderson 

Haleyville: Marlee Paige Robins, Kirsten Stevens, Samantha Wise 

Hanceville: Lily Berg, Mary Browne 

Hartselle: Zachariah Beauregard, Corey Naylor, Katherine Smith 

Hayden: Lauren Pratt, Jeffrey Tapping 

Holly Pond: Rilee Shareck 

Hoover: Casey Kostick, Charon Works 

Horton: Ashley Ramirez Guzman 

Jasper: Giovanna Lopez, Sydnee E. Shephard 

Joppa: Chase Pitts 

Killen: Anna Holt 

Kimberly: Madeline Martin 

Leeds: Morgan King 

Locust Fork: Sara Terry 

Logan: Caden David Rusk 

Mt. Olive: Maleah Dawn Faith Chadwick 

Oneonta: Owen Max Blakely, Charles Eason Williams, Allison Willis, Madisyn Wood 

Pelham: Myriah Tate 

Rainsville: Lily Madison Boswell 

Remlap: Natalie Ganus, Emily Jett 

Scottsboro: Brooke Wilson 

Trafford: Blair Echols 

Trussville: Sophia Ruxian Pierce 

Vernon: Jenna Berry 

Vinemont: Jon Edward Bridges, Stormy Campbell, Lily Kathryn Hasting, Kaydence Johnson, Allison Brooke Stidham 

Warrior: Taylor Arledge, Diego Castro Aramburo, Allison Phelps, Sophia Wright  

For more information about PTK, contact sponsor Brandon Smith at 256.352.8207, or visit

Priority registration for summer and fall semesters will begin April 1. Summer 2024 classes begin May 22. For more information, visit, call 256.352.8000 or come by Lion Central in the lobby of the James C. Bailey Center Monday-Wednesday 7:30 a.m. to 6 p.m., Thursday 7:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., or Friday 7:30 a.m. to 2 p.m. In Oneonta, call 205.625.4020 or visit the Oneonta Academic Center Monday-Thursday 7:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. and Friday 7:30 a.m. to 2 p.m.    

Media Contact

  • Kristen Holmes
  • Vice President for Students and Chief Marketing Officer
  • 256-352-8233

submit a Marketing request

Other Stories